THESE THINGS: BOOKS TO READ IN 2016

Wednesday, January 6, 2016
I am always on the hunt for a great read, and this time of year always seems to be the best to find the next book to add to my bookshelf. 2015 was severely disappointing in terms of finding a novel that really piqued my interest, and so I made a goal for myself during this new year to read 25 books by the end of it. If you're on Goodreads, make sure to make your own goal and we can share our progress together. So going through the recommendations from previous books I've read, I've compiled a list of nine so far that I want to read by the end of April. I am sincerely hoping that I can make this goal, and it seems like a pretty attainable one. Here is a rundown of the books listed above and let me know below if you've read any of these, or have any other recommendations!

Secrets of a Charmed Life by Susan Meissner
Genre: Historical Fiction
She stood at a crossroads, half-aware that her choice would send her down a path from which there could be no turning back. But instead of two choices, she saw only one—because it was all she really wanted to see… 
The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
Genre: Mystery & Thriller
A debut psychological thriller that will forever change the way you look at other people’s lives.
Brooklyn by Colm Tóibín
Genre: Fiction
Hauntingly beautiful and heartbreaking, Colm Tóibín's sixth novel, Brooklyn, is set in Brooklyn and Ireland in the early 1950s, when one young woman crosses the ocean to make a new life for herself.
Wake by Anna Hope
Genre: Historical Fiction
A brilliant debut for readers of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, in which three women must deal with the aftershocks of WWI and its impact on the men in their lives—a son, a brother and a lover. Their tragic connection is slowly revealed as the book unfolds.
Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng
Genre:  Fiction
“If we know this story, we haven’t seen it yet in American fiction, not until now. . . . Deep, heartfelt.” The New York Times Book Review
The Secret Life of Violet Grant by Beatriz Williams
Genre: Historical Fiction
Passion, redemption, and a battered suitcase full of secrets: the New York Times-bestselling author of A Hundred Summers returns with another engrossing tale.
The Darling Ladies of Lowell by Kate Alcott
Genre: Historical Fiction
From the best-selling author of The Dressmaker comes the warm-hearted and enthralling saga of a bold young woman caught between two worlds-the vibrant camaraderie of factory life and the opulence that a budding romance with the mill owner's son affords-as the murder of her best friend sends shock waves throughout the town.
Clever Girl by Tessa Hadley
Genre: Fiction
Like Alice Munro and Colm Tóibín, Tessa Hadley possesses the remarkable ability to transform the mundane into the sublime—an eye for the beauty, innocence, and irony of ordinary lives that elevates domestic fiction to literary art. In Clever Girl, she offers the indelible story of one woman's life, unfolded in a series of beautifully sculpted episodes that illuminate an era, moving from the 1960s to today.
Elizabeth of York: The Forgotten Tudor Queen by Amy Licence
As Tudors go, Elizabeth of York is relatively unknown. Yet through her marriage to Henry VII she became the mother of the dynasty, with her children including a King of England (Henry VIII) and Queens of Scotland (Margaret) and France (Mary Rose), and her direct descendants including three Tudor monarchs, two executed queens and, ultimately, the Stuart royal family. 
LET'S CONNECT || FACEBOOK | TWITTER | TUMBLR | INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST
Always,
Mostly Lisa 

No comments:

Post a Comment