10 Books to Read This Spring

Monday, April 28, 2014

Since graduating from college I literally have all the time in the world to catch up on my reading. I have yet to find a full-time job, still, and so I've taken it upon myself to read as many books as I can while I'm still in this transition period. I have no idea how long this period will last, but I'm hoping I can read all of the books on my wishlist before time is up! Are any of you on Goodreads? It's probably the best site to keep up-to-date with books you've read in the past, books you're reading right now and books you want to read in the future. Not only can you "check-in" with your status of reading, but you can connect with friends and find recommendations of books that are similar to ones you've read. I'm all about that, and so I've come up with a list of books that are so my taste and that appeal to my heart strings. I won't be bringing any of these to a stylish location, but you can be sure my bed is where I'll be reading them!

1. The Secret of Raven Point by Jennifer Vanderbes:  When seventeen-year-old Juliet Dufresne receives a cryptic letter from her enlisted brother and then discovers that he’s been reported missing in action, she lies about her age and travels to the front lines as an army nurse, determined to find him.

2. The Opposite of Loneliness: Essays and Stories by Marina Keegan: The Opposite of Loneliness is an assem­blage of Marina’s essays and stories that, like The Last Lecture, articulates the universal struggle that all of us face as we figure out what we aspire to be and how we can harness our talents to make an impact on the world.

3. Love & Treasure by Ayelet Waldman: A spellbinding new novel of contraband masterpieces, tragic love, and the unexpected legacies of forgotten crimes.

4. A Hundred Summers by Beatriz Williams: Memorial Day, 1938: New York socialite Lily Dane has just returned with her family to the idyllic oceanfront community of Seaview, Rhode Island, expecting another placid summer season among the familiar traditions and friendships that sustained her after heartbreak. 

5. A Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb: In the class of the high school English teacher she has been haunting, Helen feels them: for the first time in 130 years, human eyes are looking at her. They belong to a boy, a boy who has not seemed remarkable until now. And Helen--terrified, but intrigued--is drawn to him.

6. Flora by Gail Godwin: Ten-year-old Helen and her summer guardian, Flora, are isolated together in Helen's decaying family house while her father is doing secret war work in Oak Ridge during the final months of World War II.At three Helen lost her mother and the beloved grandmother who raised her has just died.

7. All The Birds, Singing by Evie Wyld: A stunningly insightful, emotionally powerful new novel about an outsider haunted by an inescapable past: a story of loneliness and survival, guilt and loss, and the power of forgiveness.

8. Wake by Anna Hope: A brilliant debut for readers of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, in which three women must deal with the aftershocks of WWI and its impact on the men in their lives—a son, a brother and a lover. Their tragic connection is slowly revealed as the book unfolds.

9. My Notorious Life by Kate Manning: Axie’s story begins on the streets of 1860s New York. The impoverished child of Irish immigrants, she grows up to become one of the wealthiest and most controversial women of her day.

10. The Widow Waltz by Sally Koslow: Georgia Waltz has things many people only dream of: a plush Manhattan apartment overlooking Central Park, a Hamptons beach house, valuable jewels and art, two bright daughters, and a husband she adores, even after decades of marriage.

What is on your spring/summer book list?! 

Always,
Mostly Lisa

Novelty Item: The Long-Sleeve Blouse

Wednesday, April 23, 2014


I love the feeling of wearing a really comfortable long-sleeved blouse with a pair of pants or denim. There's just something so feminine about it and you can pair it with any type of accessory. Any body type can also wear this type of blouse and it's super flattering. My wardrobe is filled to the brim with these type of blouses and they come in different colors and prints. The long-sleeve blouse is a key staple in my wardrobe and it should be in yours also! Check out my Pinterest for some of my favorite looks featuring this novelty item, and let me know how you'd style it!
 
Always,
Mostly Lisa

Darling! You're Sparkling

Saturday, April 19, 2014
OUTFIT ONE: Blouse | Skirt | Purse | Earrings | Pumps
 
OUTFIT TWO: Sunglasses | TopJacket | Heels | Denim
 
OUTFIT THREE: Perfume | Dress | Pumps | Necklace
 
OUTFIT FOUR: Top | Scarf | Pant | Sandal
 
 
OUTFIT FIVE: Top | Nail Polish | Sandal | Necklace | Short | Bag
 
The upcoming holiday has made me inspired to share some outfits that I think would fit appropriately for it! Not only do they all look comfortable, but they have the added bonus of gorgeous embellishments and sparkling baubles! Whether you happen to be celebrating the religious side, or even just celebrating by spending time with your family I think that any of these can transition well into your weekend plans. All I can think about is being outside in all of these and just enjoying the simple pleasure of the sun. It's quite infectious and always tends to put a smile on my face. So, enjoy some outfit ideas that you can put together for your holiday weekend and for any weekend in your future.
What are your plans for this weekend?! I have to work and then on Sunday I will be spending time with family, going Easter egg hunting with my nephews, eating a good meal and being able to sleep in! Yay!
 
Always,
Mostly Lisa

 

Spring 2014 Trend: Candy Crush

Thursday, April 17, 2014
 

I am loving this spring 2014 trend of stripes, tons and tons of stripes. Candy stripes are my favorite for this season since they easily make fun and flirty colors look so well together! Tracy Reese and Peter Som are just some of the designers that included these stripes into their collections. You might think of this trend as a throwback to the 80s, but you can rev it up to this decade with multiple brights and neutral colors. The stripes don't have to just horizontal, why not go crazy and do abstract with your stripes?! It's easy to pair these high-toned colors, such as magenta or hot pink, with black or white that will make an easy transition from day to night!

So what do you guys think of this sweet trend?!

Always,
Mostly Lisa


Monday Link-Up

Monday, April 14, 2014
 

 
I know, I know, I've been gone for awhile. Been battling a really bad cold that was bound to happen eventually. The weather here again in Minnesota is insanely annoying and the constant changing temperatures messed with my immune system. Ugh, it's so annoying. I figured I'd stop by though and say hello! It's that time for another Monday Link-up! These are all of my favorite links that I came across this past week and weekend! Hope you enjoy!
 

First and foremost, I have to touch on how flawless Emma Stone looked all last week during her promotion for 'The Amazing Spiderman 2'! I mean, every single outfit just was so divine. Not to mention she's a total geek for all things Spice Girls and I was right there with her after she cried getting a video message from both Mel B. and Mel C.!
 
Awkward is coming back this Tuesday! Super stoked for Senior Year for the lovely ensemble, and I'm looking forward to some Matty x Jenny interactions. He's just a great character, well... they both are!
 
I've only heard good things about this new novel, and so I know what I will be buying this week! The Goldfinch is about a young boy solving a mystery, and delving into a NYC art underworld. Sign me up!
 
The first edition of a local online magazine called Bow & Arrow Mag came out last week and it's so great! The ladies behind are super sweet and are so fashionable! Love the issue, ladies!
 
These adorable sandals from Zola are just the shoe for the upcoming season. I need them in my life!
 
My Instagram! Where you can see pictures of my everyday life and some not so ordinary things.
 
(Image: 1)

Always,
Mostly Lisa

Fashion Friday: Anjolee Jewelry Collaboration

Friday, April 4, 2014
 

 


OUTFITBlazer: Forever21 | Blouse: H&M | Pants: Gap | Shoes: Given To Me | Bag: ODLR for Target | Ring: Anjolee Jewelry

Happy Friday! Well, as much as it can be happy since we just received a whole ton of snow. Isn't it supposed to be rain showers that bring flowers? Not snow?! Anyways, for today's Fashion Friday I wanted to take photos outside but since it's cold and wet I figured I would stick inside. Today's outfit is inspired by mixing casual and dressy together.. I am really digging pairing blazers and more laid back pants or denim together. I know the trend has been around for awhile, but I'm just slowly getting it. Haha. Sorry the low quality photos, yet again, but I am trying my hardest. I can't believe I wore heels with this outfit since I usually feel like a giant in them, but I liked how they paired nicely with the pants. Another reason I am doing this post today is because of a great company that reached out to me through here! Anjolee Jewelry is a high-end jewelry manufacturer that allows you to customize your jewelry to whatever you like. They make all their own jewelry and they've been around since 1977! All of the customer service I received from this company has been super great and they've only been very friendly. I received this bridal set ring as payment for reviewing this great company! I decided to style it up with this outfit since it's not too overwhelming and it's a gorgeous topaz gemstone, my favorite!
 
Go check out Anjolee and tell them Mostly Lisa sent you! Hope you all have a beautiful weekend!

Always,
Mostly Lisa

April Inspiration

Thursday, April 3, 2014
 
 
Happy April, ladies! It is very hard to believe it's already here... It does not feel one ounce of it being spring and so that's probably why I am having a hard time believing that we are in it and so close to it being summer. Guess what we're supposed to be getting later on tonight here in the Twin Cities? Snow.. and lots of it. Please let this be a belated April Fool's joke! Please?! I'd rather have rain than snow, I'd rather have anything besides it. If we got rain then we would get some beautiful colors, so I'm here to bring some inspration to Mother Nature to give them to us. So, with this I hope you all have a beautiful April that inspires you.
 
Photo: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9
 
Always,
Mostly Lisa